Luminous-Lint - for collectors and connoisseurs of fine photography
HOME  BACK>>> Subscriptions <<< | Testimonials | Login |

Getting around


HomeContentsVisual IndexesOnline ExhibitionsPhotographersGalleries and DealersThemes
AbstractEroticaFashionLandscapeNaturePhotojournalismPhotomontagePictorialismPortraitScientificStill lifeStreetWar

Stereographs Project

      A B C D E F G H  
      I J K L M N O P  
      Q R S T U V W X  
      Y Z  
HomeContentsPhotobooks > Book Details
Sylvia Plath (Voices in Poetry) 
Buy from USA Buy from UK Buy from Canada Buy from France Buy from Germany Buy from Japan 
[Click on the appropriate flag to buy the book]
Product Details 
Library Binding 
48 pages 
Creative Education 
Published 1997 Audiobook Review 
Before committing suicide in 1963 at the age of 31, Sylvia Plath wrote a bounty of work, including the final eight poems included in this self-read collection--described by Robert Lowell as her "appalling and triumphant fulfillment." This later work, as well as 13 additional recordings gathered here from Plath's short but significant career, are certainly triumphant: her prose is precise, scathing, utterly original, and mature beyond her years. Fortunately for listeners, Plath's voice mirrors her writing. She delivers "Lady Lazarus"--a piece about suicide, self-loathing, and her hatred for men--with a dagger-like cadence and clear, confident pitch. She describes a suicide attempt: It's easy enough to do it in a cell. 
It's easy enough to do it and stay put. 
It's the theatrical 
Comeback in broad day 
To the same place, the same face, the same brute Drawn from two separate recordings--one while accompanied by her husband, the poet Ted Hughes, in 1958, and one conducted shortly after their separation in 1962, The Voice of the Poet includes a companion book containing the text of each poem, as well as an introduction by editor J.D. McClatchy. Listen to Plath read "Lorelei." Visit our audio help page for more information. (Running time: 1 hour, 1 cassette) --Rob McDonald --This text refers to the Audio Cassette edition.  
From Publishers Weekly 
This is part of a handsomely packaged new series, in which archival recordings of noted poets reading from their works are paired with accompanying text volumes. The poems are published for cross-reference, along with historical photographs and introductory biographical essays by J.D. McClatchy, editor of The Yale Review. (Other poets included in the launch are W.H. Auden and James Merrill.) The Boston-born Plath (1932-1963) reads her works in an incisive and forthright manner, carefully... read more --This text refers to the Audio Cassette edition.  
Book Description 
A remarkable new series of audiobooks, featuring the most distinquished twentieth-century American poets reading from their own work. A first in audiobook publishing--a series that uses the written word to enhance the listening experience--poetry to be read as well as heard. Each audiobook includes rare archival recordings on cassette and a book with the text of the poetry, a bibliography, and a commentary by J. D. McClatchy, the poet and critic, who is the editor of The Yale Review. --This text refers to the Audio Cassette edition.

This photographer...

No books were found
HOME  BACK>>> Subscriptions <<< | Testimonials | Login |
 Facebook LuminousLint 
 Twitter @LuminousLint